Convention Award Winners

Fra Edwards

Former Congressman Mickey Edwards (Oklahoma, ’58) is the 2022 Achievement Award recipient. Fra Edwards served for 16 years as a U.S. Congressman and was the co-founder of the Heritage Foundation. He is proud to note that he was elected as a Republican to a district that was predominantly Democrat, but emphasized the importance of working of all constituents of his district. During his Congressional tenure he served was in the House Republican Leadership, a member of the Appropriations and Budget Committees, and the ranking member of the House subcommittee on foreign operations. Fra Edwards is currently a lecturer at Princeton University and has previously taught at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government for 11 years. Fra Edwards credited Sigma Alpha Mu with helping him mature and providing polish to a young man from rural Oklahoma. Watch the interview on our Sammy YouTube channel,

Fra Levinson

The Alumni Service Award shall be presented by the Octagon to alumni at the request of chartered Alumni Clubs in recognition of continued service within the Fraternity. Marty Levinson, who entered chapter eternal in 2020, was the advisor of Sigma Theta Chapter for more than 20 years from 1998-2020. He was devoted to the boys – as he would say – as a mentor and an advocate. He worked tirelessly to support one of the largest chapters in ΣAM by engaging alumni, triaging financials, managing their House Stewards “Daddy” and Larry, and helping the chapter address concerns through disciplinary conduct. 

Following his passing, the alumni rallied to develop a ΣAM Foundation scholarship fund in his memory and contributions of $46,000 during the uncertainty of the pandemic came quickly from generations of Sigma Theta’s surpassing the initial goal of $25,000. Marty’s wife, Laura, accepted the award on his behalf at Covention.

Bonnie Wunsch

Bonnie Rubenstein Wunsch of Alpha Epsilon Phi is the first woman to receive our Sidney H. Guller Interfraternity Award. And in the fraternal industry, she has been a pioneering woman – often breaking barriers through her leadership and relationships. We would expect nothing less from the daughter of a Sammy from Sigma Theta. 

At this point she has served as Executive Director longer than our beloved Bill Schwartz. Like Bill, she has served as President of the Fraternity Executives Association and an abundance of interfraternal recognitions.

North American Interfraternity Conference Silver Medal

Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors Sue Kraft Russell Distinguished Service Award

Intefraternity awards from ZBT, AEPi, Pi Kappa Phi, Phi Mu Delta

Northeast Greek Leadership Association Bonnie Wunsch Volunteer Service Award

Fraternity Executives Association Service to the FEA Community Award

Bonnie has been instrumental in partnership programming with Sammy through regional conferences, creating Summit Against Hate, the Words to Action program, and research to support Jewish students in Greek Life.

Fra Goldman

We were delighted to present Past Supreme Prior Joel Goldman with the Certificate of Merit. Joel has spent more than 30 years fiercely advocating for causes including hunger, global health, poverty, social justice, and human rights. He’s been an innovator in building cohesive stories and public engagement campaigns that engage influencers to bring attention and resources to support some of the most pressing causes in the world. He excels at driving global impact in the entertainment and non-profit industries. It’s also worth noting that his career began under the tutelage of Bill Schwartz at ΣAM Headquarters. 

Joel’s impact has spanned organizations including The Elizabeth Taylor AIDS Foundation, Elizabeth Glazer Pediatric Aids Foundation, Feeding America, and St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. He is an expert at building entertainment industry-specific departments within non-profit organizations to propel social impact and growth through celebrity partnerships and industry platforms.

Fra Finkelstein

Bill Finkelstein (Texas, ’68) is the 2022 recipient of the Certificate of Merit. Bill Finkelstein started as Pledge Class President, then Chapter Prior, and an Officer of UT’s IFC. As the President of the Jewish Federation of Dallas, Fra Finkelstein helps guide the philanthropic efforts of the Jewish community worldwide! Bill and the Federation’s work is also responsible for raising $288,000 to help the victims of Ukraine. 

Bill has recently retired from a successful career as an attorney in Dallas. He has however not slowed down his community and philanthropic work: 

President of the Jewish Federation of Dallas

President & Founder of Mount Zion United Jewish Cemetery

Past President of Forest Lane synagogue

President of Dallas Kosher

On the advisory cabinet for Israel Bonds, Dallas Branch

Board Member of Legacy Senior Communities

Recent Sigma Theta House Corporation Board Member

Fra Glauben

PSP Fra Phil Glauben (North Texas, ’73) is the 2022 recipient of the William P. Schwartz Distinguished Service Award. This award is presented to alumni who have rendered service of such lasting and superlative quality to Sigma Alpha Mu as to merit single recognition by the

Fraternity. He becomes the 18th individual to receive this award. Fra Glauben has served in the fraternity for more than 30 years as the Education Committee Chairman. The breadth of his service includes being a local Chapter Advisor, Regional Governor, and Endowment Fund Trustee, where he also served as Secretary. On the Octagon, Phil served as Consul, Supreme Recorder, Vice Supreme Prior and Supreme Prior. In fact, he holds the distinction of being Sigma Alpha Mu’s longest serving Supreme Prior having held that role for 5 years. Phil’s commitment to the fraternity has ushered in new strategic plans and industry award-winning educational initiatives that have shaped the Sammy experience as we know it today. 

The Certificate of Merit is awarded to alumni whose service and achievements in community endeavors are deemed by the Octagon worthy of national recognition. This is an award about giving back to the community beyond Sigma Alpha Mu to help repair the world.

  • Octagonian Spring 2024

    Octagonian Spring 2024

    CLICK HERE TO VIEW This issue includes the following articles: Sigma Alpha Mu provides a lifetime subscription to The Octagonian to all fratres by providing it online and emailing each…

  • Matthew Ray Named Communications Manager

    Matthew Ray Named Communications Manager

    November 3, 2023 Indianapolis, IN – Sigma Alpha Mu Fraternity has named Matthew Ray (Beta Omega, ‘17) its next Communications Manager beginning Friday, November 3rd. He succeeds Kelby Dolan, who…

  • Sigma Alpha Mu Rallies in Support of Israel

    Sigma Alpha Mu Rallies in Support of Israel

    The following message was sent by email on 10/31 to all alumni with good email addresses. Didn’t receive it? Please update your contact information at or Dear Fratres,…